Starting Over: Can I Do This?

I am afraid. Very afraid. Taking on a road never before charted can feel daunting. What if I’m horrible at it? What if nobody likes it? I quit on so many other things, what if I cannot see it through. So many what ifs.

giphy

So many people have done it though… followed their passion, started their business and become a source of inspiration for many people like me. I have read about them. Done my research to find out what they did, how they did it.

A voice tells me, “You can do it Stace. You will do it.”

Another voice interrupts. “That was their story. Yours won’t pan out. You don’t know what you’re doing, and even if you could figure that out, you have no skill. You are not good enough, and you never will be”.

giphy_s

The negative voices are always more prominent, making me forget the good things I need to keep in mind. It doesn’t help that there is a wave of pleas urging the youth not to follow their passions. You may need more than your passion to create the dream job, life-altering opportunities are scarce, some passions are not career-relevant, these are but a few of the things I have come across.

“You’re brave for doing this,” I have been told.

I am afraid. Very afraid. I will do it anyway. If it works out, I will proudly say “I DID IT!” at the top of my voice. And if things do not work out, that’s fine too. At least then I can say I tried.

giphy1

A vaincre sans péril, on triomphe sans gloire.

Google Translation: To conquer without danger, one triumphs without glory.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Being afraid is a good thing. Keeps you alert and a bit cautious so you don’t make gigantic mistakes you can’t recover from.

    Take the bull by its horns and ride that rodeo! Won’t be easy but you’ll be great. I wish you all the best.

    1. istaystayc says:

      Thanks Rachel. I’ll be calling you for a quick pep talk now and then.

Leave a Reply

