I got my first dance gig on my own!

img_20161215_201238
We were at the Fundii Centre for the Arts for the Jumia Party Launch. The artwork there was fantastic! This one was of Mick Jagger, and the artist used broken pieces of Vinyl Records to create it.

This has been interesting month for me… A lot of great things have happened for me that I am so grateful for. I’ll write a series because I’m not trying to write a 20 page composition here.

I got my first dance gig on my own! When I say on my own, I mean I did not get the job through a third party or middle man to get me the opportunity (as I have always done in the past). Do you know how it feels to be able to do something you love and then get paid for it?  It’s a cliche, I know, and it’s a conversation we’re tired of having.

Here’s Elvis and I warming up before our beginner’s Salsa Class.

EatOut salsa classes coming in handy! 😉 It’s going down in the Salsa Room! #JumiaParty

A video posted by EatOut Kenya (@eatoutkenya) on Dec 15, 2016 at 9:55am PST

For the longest time I have been on a soul search to find my passions and figure out how to turn them into money-making machines. It got to a point where I quit jobs simply because I was miserable doing them. (If you’re rolling your eyes thinking “She’s so entitled!”, please bear with me.)

It’s not because I heard speeches about doing what you love and read lots of self-help books. I genuinely put in effort – Ask anyone I have worked with and they will tell you how committed and hard working I can be. I took on a variety of jobs, because “kazi ni kazi” and at the end of the day, you have to be in a position to pay your bills. It just got to a point where I couldn’t do it anymore. Anyway, that’s a story for another day!

The last couple of months have had me doubting how legit my search is… I even momentarily concluded that dance cannot be a source of income. Now, I am interested again…

I have come to learn that I am a very passionate person – I feel a lot. It can be a weakness in some scenarios, but a lot of times, it means I commit once I know I am in love with something. I am in love with dance! It felt great to earn from something that felt effortless – It wasn’t much, but it was enough to do some shopping and buy some airtime.

Thanks Olivia, by the way!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. “Do you know how it feels to be able to do something you love and then get paid for it?” yeah considering you would do it for free and still not get bothered….

    that’s an interesting experience all in all keep at it and never quit remember : “Good, better, best. Never let it rest. ‘Til your good is better and your better is best”. – St. Jerome

  2. kinyanjui the director says:

    Awesome read

Leave a Reply

