My First Step

Image
© Inspe | Dreamstime Stock Photos & Stock Free Images

Wow! Time sure does fly! Forgive me for using the cliché. This would be my first post on this blog. The thing is that I started it some time in the middle of last year. All that time, and I never did a single thing with it. All because I was afraid. What of? You. You who reads and wonders what the hell is she doing writing a blog? If she can’t write, why even bother?

Truth is, I know I can write. It’s just that this world is full of people ready to rip you apart everywhere on the Internet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not making excuses, just sharing my fears. Hopefully there are bloggers who have felt this too. I spent so much time trying to figure out what kind of blog I’d maintain. Should it be about fashion? No! I don’t know what to say about fashion! Should it be about music? I love music but what would I say about it? I love salsa dancing. How about I talk about that? No! How many people would read about Salsa?

These were some of the things I kept asking myself. All that mattered was what you, the reader, would think. It is so damn tasking when you think about it. Can you imagine trying to understand someone you don’t know at all? Trying to read the expressions on a face you cannot see? Trying to connect with someone miles and cultures away. Yes, we are in a global village. I’m in Kenya, you are in the US, the UK, South Africa, China, the Phillipines, yet we share opinions, thoughts and ideas with each other. But the parody of it all is how even as the world became smaller, it got more complicated.

I however came to terms with the reality of the matter: it’s all in your head. Yes there are people who would wonder what the hell you’re doing. But you need to do it for no one else but you. The only way a person would understand you is if you understood yourself enough to share the real you. It could happen with your alias, you could hide your identity, but as long as your story, your experience, is real, then people will relate. Because despite the fact that we are from different parts of the world, we somehow relate with each other. We laugh, we cry, we smile, we frown, these are universal expressions.

So with this post I take the important step ahead. I choose to be honest with myself. Forget about what they think. Just be you, and you might find someone who feels exactly like you.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. orwell1627 says:

    Good luck with your blog!

Leave a Reply

